10 Easy Crowd-Pleasing Apps to Spice up Thanksgiving!

Well, another year has gone by and it’s Thanksgiving time again! Warm dinner rolls, pumpkin pie, cornbread stuffing, homemade cranberry relish—it’s the ultimate comfort food holiday. However, misophonia can often make this day unbearable. Earplugs and choosing judiciously where to eat around the table (along with eating as fast as possible!) were my coping mechanisms as a child. Now that my family is aware this is a real problem they have helped me by trading in the china and silverware for plastic and providing more seating options. But what about that time before the meal? Loud, crunchy appetizers can make it hard to socialize and spend time with the people you care about most.

But of course, what is Thanksgiving without those pre-meal treats? So in an effort to help appease your misophonic loved ones I’ve rounded up a few friendly appetizer recipes that are sure to please the whole crowd!

Homemade Mac and Cheese Bites from Chef In Training

Homemade-Mac-and-Cheese-Bites-edited

Mac ‘n Cheese was never a staple Thanksgiving dish in my family, but there’s always room for new traditions! These bite-size cheesy snacks look so yummy I’d be afraid I couldn’t stop at just one!

Caprese Salad from Terri’s Table Apps-CapreseSkewerAppetizers6-20101

I love anything on a toothpick, and these look so easy to make! Fresh mozzarella and basil may not scream Thanksgiving, but I guarantee these will add a refreshing start to your meal!

Guacamole Deviled Eggs from Cooking Stoned

Guacamole-Deviled-Eggs-Close-Up-620x432

I’ll admit I’ve never liked traditional deviled eggs. But I love guacamole so I think I’ll give this a try—plus it’s a much quieter than chips!

Spinach Artichoke Mushrooms from Snixy Kitchen

SpincahArtichokeDipMushrooms

Everyone loves spinach artichoke dip. Why not ditch the pita chips and instead combine with healthy, scrumptious baked mushrooms?

Grilled Shrimp with Roasted Garlic Cilantro Sauce from The Mediterranean Dish

Grilled-Shrimp-with-Garlic-Cilantro-Sauce-8

Cocktail shrimp is a staple holiday hors d’oeuvres with my family. Consider spicing it up a bit with this fun alternative.

Bacon Wrapped Dates Filled with Goat Cheese from the Kitchy Kitchen

dsc4661u-620x413

Who doesn’t love bacon right? This rich treat is super-easy to make and scores high in approval ratings. Even kids will like this sweet n salty snack!

Brussel Sprout”Chips” from Life Style 365

img_0179

I’m pretty new to the whole brussel sprouts craze, but I’m obsessed. Just last week I made Billy wait 20 minutes just for them to refill the roasted brussel sprouts tray at Whole Foods. Here’s to a healthy and flavorful alternative to chips ‘n dip this year!

Mini Corn Dog Muffins from Hip2Save

mini-corn-dog-muffins-hip2save.jpg

I love this twist on pigs in the blanket, and these are even more pop-able! Ketchup and mustard dipping is a must for these little guys, and check out Free Fun Christmas for another festive alternative.

Caramelized Onion Tarts with Apples from Real Simple

recipes-caramelize-tart_300

I can’t wait to try these savory treats. Consider cutting the tarts down into smaller pieces to make them even more bite size!

Butternut Squash Soup Shooters from Cambria Winery

tumblr_inline_nf1ncdVqfp1sasl40

Perfect for Thanksgiving! Butternut squash is one of those quintessential fall comfort foods. We’ve done butternut squash soup before, but I love the sprig of rosemary and the shooter glasses! I love these cute and affordable Bitty Bite Tall Glasses from Crate & Barrel.

Leave a Reply

